How to make Oatmeal Cups

IMG_20160815_104032

Gluten-free, made with organic ingredients, breakfast or dessert cups.

Someone had asked me how to make these gorgeousΒ miniΒ oatmeal cups on Instagram. It’s too long to explain, so I decided to just do it here on my blog. I promised to share it, so here it is. πŸ™‚

Sunday afternoon is my routine to prepare and cookΒ meals for the week. So, I made these cuties yesterday and put all the toppings available at home for breakfast today. This recipe is inspired from Better Homes Garden magazine. Β I used oatmeal, super seeds, Β ground flax seeds and coconut flour instead of wheat germ and coconut oil instead of butter. I followed the maple syrup and brown sugar to bind the ingredients, but honey is best. Β I added and fill these cups with chocolate ganache at the bottom and yogurt as suggested on top then fruits of your choice then chilled for 5 to 10 minutes if you are eating them right away to hold their shape instead of just cooling them on a wire rack. Β I found they don’t easilyΒ crumble.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Ingredients:

Yields: 12 cups

  • 2 cups organic raw rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup organic coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup dry roasted organic sunflower seeds
  • 1 Tablespoon organic Chia seeds
  • 1 Tablespoon organic flax seeds
  • 1 Tablespoon organic ground flax seeds
  • 1/4 ground organic cinnamon spice
  • 1/2 cup organic unsweetened coconut flakes, coarsely chopped with a knife or in food processor
  • 1/4 cup packed organic light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup organic maple syrup or raw honey
  • 1/4 cup cold pressed organic coconut oil

Toppings:

  • a serving spoon of Dark chocolate ganache for each cups
  • Yogurt of your choice ( I used organic Greek yogurt)
  • Organic fruits of your choice

Directions:

  1. Gather all your ingredients before making this recipe to prevent mishap.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the oats, coconut flour, sunflower seeds, chia seeds, ground flax seeds, flax seeds, and coconut flakes.
  3. In a small saucepan, add the coconut oil, brown sugar, cinnamon and maple syrup or honey. Β Cook and stir over low heat until sugar is dissolved. Removed from heat. Β Pour the mixture into the bowl of oat mixture. Stir to coat. Β Cover and chill until cool.
  4. Lightly spray the muffin cups with baking spray. Using the back of a spoon, press the oat mixture onto bottoms and sides up of prepared muffin cups. Bake for 15 minutes or Β until edges are light brown. Cool on a wire rack.
  5. Fill the center with chocolate ganache, then yogurt. Β Chill overnight.
  6. Add the fruit toppings of your choice.
  7. Using a knife, carefully loosen the edges of the cups and serve.

This is how I did mine. I had one and it was really delicious.   I used the rest of the cups as ice cream cups for dessert.  Sweet! ❀

0815161551_HDR

Have a lovely weekend! Thanks for stopping by.

~Anna

 

26 thoughts on “How to make Oatmeal Cups

    • Yes. It’s the only thing that forced me to blog lol. πŸ˜€ I’m loving Instagram now. You take a picture and post. It’s that easy. So, if you want to know what I have been up to, check out my IG. I’m there almost everyday. πŸ™‚
      Thanks a lot, Nell. Enjoy the remaining days of summer. πŸ™‚

  1. They look soo pretty and yummy – great idea to use the oatmeal cups for ice cream as dessert – I am thinking to try out your oatmeal recipe for our weekend gate away at the cabin next week! Thank you!!

  2. What a great idea, Anna, and so versatile, too. I can easily see these being served for breakfast and I’d pop out of bed to get mine. On the other hand, they would make the perfect end to a fine meal. I bet quite a few people with be borrowing this recipe. Thanks, Anna. I know that I will. πŸ™‚

    • Very well said, John. I’m pretty sure they will. These are just too good, too cute and healthy to pass up. πŸ˜€
      Have a great day. And, thank you. I appreciate your support and lovely comments. . πŸ™‚

What are your thoughts?

