No-Bake Mango Delight

Hello! Thank you.  I’m glad you stopped by because today is your lucky day. 🙂

“Never judge a book by its cover” the saying goes.  This dessert may look mundane, but wait until you try it.  You are going to hate me for creating this recipe.  There is nothing like it out there.  This delectable dessert is out of this world. Literally!  One bite and  I was sold.  I must have heard fireworks and the oohs and aahs. 🙂  This my friend is one of those treats that would  make you throttle someone if she/he comes between you and your share.  It’s just too delicious.  You can’t stop eating it.  The best tropical sweet treat anyone can have.  There is no artificial mango flavoring added.  There’s (fresh) mango in every bite.  Definitely a MUST try.

IMG_20140306_161155_503

My children asked me to bake  them a cake this morning; something “refreshing and sweet”.   They wanted “something else” besides the usual chocolate cake .  I wasn’t planning on being in the kitchen today, but since I didn’t have anything else for them (out of the papaya slush) , I had to make one.  I was looking at the mangoes I purchased yesterday and I knew exactly what to do with them.  It will be a good excuse to use the mascarpone cheese before it expires.  Did I have a whipping cream?  Checked.  Butter?  Checked.  Graham crackers or Ritz crackers?  Nope.  Okay, I couldn’t make it today ( So, I thought).  Then, I went to the formal dinning room and there! The butter cookie container was sitting on top of the table.  Aha!  The kids have been eating them.  I opened the can and there was about a quarter of cookies left.  I found the perfect crust for my mango recipe.

IMG_20140306_123908_596

This mango delight is layered with butter cookie crumbs, mango puree and mascarpone mixture, whipped cream mixed with a surprise ingredient , and naturally sweet  diced fresh mango.  The extra steps are what makes this treat sinfully delicious.  You will thank yourself for making it.  This would definitely make your potluck or party desserts list.  🙂

IMG_20140306_123950_276

Okay, you get the idea.  Let’s make it so you can devour a piece (or more) and stop drooling. 🙂    You need to gather all the ingredients before you start making it to prevent mishap.  This recipe yields 9-12 servings.

Note: You can add mango extract to enhance the flavor if you prefer, but this recipe is perfect without it. 

For the crust:

  • 22 butter cookies
  •  2 tablespoons melted butter

Directions:

  1. If you don’t have a food processor, place the cookies in a Ziploc bag and pound until  you have very fine crumbs.  Add the melted butter and mix with a spoon.  If you are using a food processor, process until all the cookies are very fine.  Add the melted butter and pulse until well-combined.
  2. Transfer the crumb mixture into a square (8″ x 8″) glass baking dish.
  3. Using a dry measuring cup, press down making sure the crumb mixture is evenly distributed and covered the bottom of the baking dish; set aside.

Prep the Mango

You will need 3 large, very ripe Manila mangoes, divided

Directions:

  1. Wash and slice the three mangoes.  Set aside the seeds.  You can eat the flesh off them later. 🙂  You should have a total of 6 half mangoes.
  2. Dice 4 of the half mangoes and place on a plate; set aside.
  3.   Scoop the flesh of the remaining mangoes and place in  a blender.  Puree it and set aside.

Tip:  For easy and faster way of dicing the mangoes, carefully cut the mango flesh with a knife horizontally then cut vertically without cutting through the skin.  See photos above.

Prepare the first layer:

Ingredients:

  • Mango puree
  • 6 oz. (3/4 of the container) Belgioioso Mascarpone or cream cheese at room temperature (a must)
  • 4 tablespoons butter, softened at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup condensed milk

Directions:

  1. In a stand mixer with a paddle attachment, add butter and beat in high speed until smooth.  Turn off the mixer. Scrape the sides and bottom and beat again in medium-high speed for 10 seconds.
  2. Add the mascarpone cheese and beat in the lowest speed just until combined. (If you are using cream cheese, beat in high speed until smooth and well-combined.
  3. Add the mango puree and condensed milk.  Beat in low speed until well-combined. Turn off the mixer.
  4. Using a spatula, smooth the lumps (if there’s any. If none, skip this step) in the mixture by pressing down and folding to combined.
  5. Replace the bowl in a stand mixer and add about a little over 1/4 cup of the diced mango.  Beat for 10 seconds.
  6. Pour the mixture in the prepared baking dish.

Prepare the whipped cream topping (2nd layer)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • zest of 1 large orange
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/8 cup of condensed milk
  • 1 tablespoon powdered sugar
  • remaining mascarpone cheese or cream cheese

Directions:

  1. In a stand mixer with a paddle attachment, add the cream, condensed milk and vanilla extract.  Gradually beat in low to medium speed  until frothy about 2 minutes.
  2. Add the powdered sugar and gradually increase the speed.  Continue to beat until stiff peak forms. Do not over beat.
  3. Add the mascarpone or cream cheese and the orange zest.  Beat until just combined.
  4. Add the whipped cream mixture on top of the mango mixture.
  5. Add the remaining diced mangoes on top of the whipped cream mixture.
  6. Refrigerate at least an hour and a half before you cut ( i cut a piece at 45 minutes mark and it was still soft.  See photo below).
  7. If you have any leftover, refrigerate overnight and leave at room temperature(about 15 minutes) before serving.

IMG_20140306_122349_269Note:  I found the best way to serve this heavenly dessert is to cut it and place on individual plates and refrigerate for 3 hours.  It’s to die for!!!

If you like this recipe, don’t forget to Subscribe or Follow to get the latest recipes.   There are more original recipes coming your way.  However, please be kind and link back to source when you use or share any of my recipes.  Thank you for stopping by.  Until next time.  Have a fantastic weekend!

©annascuisine.wordpress.com (2014)   Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material herein without expressed and written consent from this blog’s author, Annabelle Bedell, is strictly and completely prohibited.

 

27 thoughts on “No-Bake Mango Delight

  1. I see you don’t monetize your blog, don’t waste your traffic, you can earn additional cash every month because you’ve got high
    quality content. If you want to know how to make extra money, search for: Mertiso’s tips
    best adsense alternative

    • Yes, totally delicious are the words. It’s mango season now and I’m so happy because it’s one of my fave fruits. I bought some Manila mangoes and I made ice candy yesterday. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by. Have a great day! 🙂

      • Hi Anna..I’m from small cute country,Brunei.I did tried your mango delight receipes and this is my 1st time baking 😊..unfortunately it does not comes out really well as I don’t have paddle attachment on my mixer.the whipping cream turned out really watery..😞..But the great news,my family crazily over it n requests it every time we have family gathering.Thanks for sharing 😍

      • Hello Pie. Thank you for trying out my recipe. Your feedback is much appreciated. Next time you make it, you can use a hand whisk or an electric whisk if you have one. It’s a great alternative to a stand mixer. Although, it takes a little longer, you can get the same result. I’m glad your family approved and crazy about this recipe. It is really delicious. Thanks again. Have a great day (It’s night time here)! 🙂

    • Yes, it really is. Thanks. I appreciate you trying it out. Mango is indeed in season again. So, I’ll be making this again and other desserts I have in mind.It’s just too delicious not to make another. 🙂

  2. Way to go, Mom! Not only did you fulfill your kids’ request for something “refreshing and sweet”, Anna, you did it without a run to the store. Now that’s great cooking! Using those cookies for the crust was inspired and the end-result really is worthy of the name “delight”. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for the nice compliment, John. You are too generous. Yes, it was fortunate to find those cookies. 🙂 It was the best crust for this recipe. Have a great weekend. I appreciate you stopped by. 🙂

    • Hello, Ms. Juliet! It is always a pleasure to see you stopped by my blog. Thanks for the compliment. YES!!!! It was really good! You should try it. You don’t need a stand mixer, you can use a hand mixer to make it. My pleasure to share. It was too good not to share. The higher authority would not like it for sure. 🙂 Have a great weekend.

  3. This looks great. I love your photos of the up close delight pan and also the whole mango, cut up. I think that coconut milk, whole, might work in this recipe, too, for an exotic flavor. This looks luscious, sweet and rich. YUM, Anna.

    • My thought exactly, Shanna. I really wanted to use coconut cream as my whipped topping, but I didn’t have any and I felt lazy to go out again. So, I just used whatever I had at home. Yes, it really was delicious and addicting. I had to control the serving because I wanted it to last because my children wouldn’t stop asking for more. 🙂 It’s always a pleasure seeing you stopped by. Thank you for your time. Enjoy your weekend, Shanna. Warm regards to you and your family. I hope you are all better now. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.