NOTHING CAN SEPARATE US FROM THE LOVE OF GOD vs NOTHING CAN SEPARATE US FROM GOD

I heard all the time that nothing can separate us from the love of God. Although this is true, I haven’t heard anyone preaching about what can separate us from GOD. I believe these are two different things. But, so  many are preaching that the latter is part of the first context itself. But, I beg to differ.  Don’t get me wrong. I believe there is NOTHING that can separate us FROM the LOVE of God. The Bible talks about this and I believe this to be true. The LORD Jesus died for us to save us because He loves us. 

However, that is not what I am talking about. Is there really nothing that can separate us FROM GOD? I am talking about what can separate us FROM GOD; not from His love. So, what was that ONE THING that can separate us FROM GOD? The three letter word: SIN!  The very thing that caused the LORD Jesus to end up on the cross. It is because of SIN! This is that ONE thing that can and has separated us from GOD! When we live in sin, we separate ourselves from GOD. 

Isaiah 59:1-3

Behold, the Lord’s hand is not shortened,  that it cannot save; nor His ear heavy, that it cannot hear. But your iniquities have separated you from your God;  and your sins have hidden His face from you, so that He will not hear. For your hands are defiled with blood, and your fingers with iniquity;  your lips have spoken lies, your tongue has muttered perversity.

Revelation 2:4-5

Nevertheless I have this against you, that you have left your first love. Remember therefore from where you have fallen; repent and do the first works, or else I will come to you quickly and remove your lampstand from its place—unless you repent.

Why do you think GOD is calling us to return?  It is because we have gone astray, we have been separated from GOD. God is holy. And unless we repent, we are not saved.

 Isaiah 55:7

Let the wicked forsake his way,  and the unrighteous man his thoughts; let him return to the Lord, and He will have mercy on him;  and to our God, for He will abundantly pardon.

The other thing that I always hear is to have FAITH. My question is, can faith alone save you?  According to the book of James 2:26, Faith without works is dead. Faith alone is dead. We need to supply our faith with repentance (which is doing). We have to repent and show it. 

Matthew 3:8

Therefore bear fruits worthy of repentance.

This is the thing that I have been trying to get across, but I was always dismissed and not being heard. So, I am sharing in the hope that those who live a life in sin will know and be awakened; that sin is that one thing that can separate us from GOD. So, we repent and go back to our first love, for He will abundantly pardon.

 Isaiah 55:7

Let the wicked forsake his way,  and the unrighteous man his thoughts; let him return to the Lord, and He will have mercy on him;  and to our God, for He will abundantly pardon.

May this post bless you. 

~Anna