Stove Top Barbecue Pork Ribs

There’s really not enough time in the day to accomplish all the tasks.  I’m still playing catch-up y’all.  Here’s one of the many recipes I’ve been meaning to post, but never got around to it until now.   This stove top barbecue pork ribs is my family’s favorite barbecue ribs.  Don’t get me wrong.  My family doesn’t like eating pork, especially my husband.  There was a time when we didn’t consume any pork for many years. That is why I rarely cook ’em, but when my family wants to eat pork, it has to be barbecue pork ribs.  I try to choose the leanest pork ribs I could find because it is rather unhealthy if they’re mostly fat.

DSC_8541

Before quinoa was available, my children just ate rice. Simply because of their allergies.  If I list all their food allergies, you will be shocked.  That is why I prepare different kinds of foods three times a day to cater to their needs.  Yes, it’s a lot of work.

DSC_8295

Anyway, we had a get together at home and I made some pork ribs.  We had some leftover and they were really dry, so I decided to cook them on the stove top with barbecue sauce.  You don’t have to wait to have leftover before making this.  You can go ahead and prepare them this way with either chicken drumsticks or beef ribs.

DSC_8541

COOKING IN A CROCK-POT

This maybe the simplest, delicious barbecue you’ll ever make.  If you are in a hurry to put food on the table, this will work great.  However, if you have to run errands and don’t have time to stand in the kitchen, you can go ahead and cook this in low heat in a crock pot for at least 8-10 hours.  You will need at least two bottles (28 oz. each)  of barbecue sauce and 1 cup of water, about 2 slabs of ribs cut in sections.  Place ribs in the slow cooker.  Mix the water and barbecue sauce then pour over ribs.  The result?  Tender, succulent, and fall off the bone ribs!

DSC_8541 COOKING ON A STOVE TOP

There is nothing complicated about making these ribs and cooking them on the stove.  They are really easy to make.  All you need is a slab of short ribs, barbecue seasoning ( I use McCormick barbecue rub), and 1 bottle (28 oz.) of Sweet Baby Rays barbecue sauce and half a cup of water or more.  Generously sprinkle the ribs with the barbecue rub, then cut in section.  Place them in a pot.  Mix the barbecue sauce and water.  Pour the barbecue sauce mixture over the ribs.  Cover and cook in low heat stirring from time to time.  Add more water if it needs it. Let it simmer until the meat is tender and the sauce caramelized about 45 minutes to an hour.*  You have succulent ribs for dinner.  How is that for easy!  🙂

*Please be reminded that cooking time varies depending on your stove. Adjust accordingly. You can add a little bit more water if the sauce thickens before the meat is done. 

If you like this post or my blog, don’t forget to Subscribe or Follow to get the latest recipes.  Thank you for stopping by.  Until next time. Have a great day!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

©annascuisine.wordpress.com (2014)   Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material herein without expressed and written consent from this blog’s author, Annabelle Bedell, is strictly and completely prohibited.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

9 thoughts on “Stove Top Barbecue Pork Ribs

  1. Pingback: Ready for Summer? « Anna's Cuisine

  2. Hello, Juliet! My pleasure. With children, sometimes you can’t help but prepare dishes like this one, especially if they have limited choice of foods because of their allergies. I’m sure Joshua will enjoy the ribs. They were delicious (according to my family). Thank you. I appreciate you stopping by and leaving a comment. Looking forward to your next visit. Have a blessed day. 🙂

    • Hello, Ngan. I’m glad you stopped by and not missed this post. 🙂 Thank you for the compliment. Yes, my family really loved the ribs and gobbled them up. This was made a while back. I just wanted to share how you can have barbecue at anytime and on the stove top. This method works well with the chicken too.
      I posted a healthier recipe to make up for the previous post. Thanks for the visit, Ngan. Have a great day! 🙂

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.