Baked Salmon Escabeche

In case you are wondering what the apples have to do with my post, my children and I went to pick apples at an orchard along with some friends.   We planned on having lunch, so I cooked chicken adobo, pansit and some Filipino desserts, which I will be posting soon.   We went straight to the apple orchard and waited for my friends to arrive from picking tomatoes in the farm.  By the time we got together, it was lunch time.  The tomatoes were given to me and  I was so eager to use them in this recipe because they were so fresh and tasted sweet.

This recipe is adapted from my mother’s very own Tilapia Escabeche.   In my mother’s recipe, the fish is whole and fried and she used cherry tomatoes and red onions but no ginger and simmered the fish in the sauce.  I made it in the past by using a whole red snapper fish (scroll all the way down to see photo).

My version is baked and very easy to make and it’s ready in  25 minutes.*   I had wild salmon in the refrigerator that I purchased  from Costco.  I didn’t really want to fry it, so I immediately thought of baking it and making the sauce separate and pour it over the salmon.  Brilliant!  This was our dinner last night.  The salmon was succulent and tender and the chilies and cilantro added character to the dish.  Delicious!

Prepare the ingredients.

DSC_0373

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 servings salmon fillets
  • 1 medium onion, cut crosswise
  • 2 sprigs  green onions, cut
  • 1 large tomato, coarsely chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4  cup soy sauce
  • 3 fl. tablespoons water
  • thumb size ginger root, peeled and pounded with a meat mallet
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Green chili peppers
  • cilantro for garnish

Preparation Methods:

Lightly season salmon fillet with a pinch of salt and black pepper.  Bake salmon for 20-25 minutes* or until opaque.  Remove salmon from the oven and set aside or leave the salmon in the oven and open the oven door halfway to release the heat. This will prevent the salmon  from overcooking.  Make the sauce.

Heat skillet over medium heat and coat with oil when hot.  Add garlic and fresh ginger and saute for 1 minute.

DSC_0374

Add tomatoes, onions, and green onions. Stir-fry until onions and tomatoes are somewhat soft about 3 minutes.*

DSC_0375

Add the chillies.

DSC_0377

Then add soy sauce, sugar, and water.  Stir -fry  for 1 minute to incorporate.  Turn off heat.

DSC_0378

Arrange the salmon on a large plate.  Scoop the cooked onions, tomatoes, and chillies and put over salmon.  Pour the sauce on top and garnish with cilantro.  Serve immediately.  Bon Appetit! 🙂

CSC_0451

annascuisine.wordpress.com

And here’s the snapper escabeche with salsa that I made in the past using my mother’s classic escabeche recipe.  🙂

Whole snapper Escabeche with salsa

annascuisine.wordpress.com

*Note:  Due to the variations on all ovens, cooking time may require adjustments.

©annascuisine.wordpress.com (2013)   Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material herein without expressed and written consent from this blog’s author, Annabelle Bedell, is strictly and completely prohibited.

18 thoughts on “Baked Salmon Escabeche

  1. Pingback: Healthy Recipe Ideas (#14) » Kiwi Blogger

  2. Pingback: You Should Eat Fish at Least Once a Week | Gracie's Ravioli

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.