Spiced Udon Stir-fry (U is for Udon)

Spring has sprung.  What better way to enjoy spring than to present a fresh plate of the season’s bounty!

 

IMG_20140409_151143_924

This post was supposed to be published earlier today at 5 p.m. EST.  I set the “automatic” setting for publishing my post (located on the right side of your post) I put the date and time in and saved it, but to my dismay, it did not work causing me to miss this month’s challenge.  😦

It would have been such a privilege to join in a challenge and such honor to cook with such amazing and talented bloggers; Shanna @ Shannaward.com, Liz @ foodcommunicationservices.wordpress.com , Ngan @ ngansequitor.com, Amanda @ sercocinera.wordpress.com, and Sophia @ papayapieces.com.  Sorry ladies. 😦

Anyway, I have been cooking with turmeric spice along with other spices lately and this dish is no different.   I just can’t stay away from its health benefit.  If you like udon noodles, then you will certainly like this. 🙂   At first, I wanted to cook udon soup with large tempura prawns, but I opted to make udon stir-fry.

I used dry udon noodles simply because it’s widely available and added some colorful spring vegetables and use the same cooking techniques I learned from my mother cooking the Pancit.  Look at how colorful this dish is.   The purple cabbage, carrots and capsicum made this dish looks so vibrant and fresh.  The turmeric spice, garlic and other spices made it pleasing to the palate.

You can check out what Shanna @ shannaward.com, Liz @ foodcommunicationservices.wordpress.com , Ngan @ ngansequitor.com, and Sophia @ papayapieces.com created.    These bloggers are amazingly talented and I am sure each one created something incredible to offer for this month’s challenge.

Let’s cook the Udon.

Ingredients:

  • 12.8 oz. (363 g) whole organic Udon Noodles
  • 3.5 oz. Wang Shiitake mushrooms, hydrated (See Note)
  • 2 half chicken breasts, cut in strips
  • 5 large garlic, minced; divided
  • 1/4 cup chopped onions
  • 4 stalks of green onions, sliced
  • 3-4 capsicum, sliced lengthwise
  • 1/4 of small organic purple cabbage, sliced
  • 1 medium organic carrots, cut in an angle about 1/2 inch then thinly cut
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon turmeric spice
  • juice of half lemon
  • 5 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 teaspoon chicken bouillon
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Follow the instructions on the package for the Udon Noodles; set aside.
  2. Mix turmeric and soy sauce in a small bowl.  Stir to combine and set aside.
  3. In a medium skillet over medium-high heat, add 1 tablespoon olive oil.  Add half of the garlic and saute until lightly brown. Add the Shiitake mushrooms and cook until tender about 2-3 minutes. Lightly season with salt and pepper. Remove and set aside.
  4. Repeat and do the same with the bell peppers or capsicum by adding 1 tablespoon olive oil to the same skillet and saute the bell peppers just until they start to sweat. Lightly season with salt and pepper.  Remove and set aside.
  5. Add 1 tablespoon in the same skillet and add the purple cabbage.  Saute until slightly wilted.  Lightly season with salt and pepper. Remove and set aside.
  6. Add another tablespoon in the same skillet and add the green onions.  Saute just until somewhat wilted about 5-8 seconds. Remove and set aside.
  7. In the same skillet, add the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil. Add the chicken and stir-fry until no longer pink covering and stirring from time to time. Season with chicken bouillon. Stir well to incorporate.
  8. Add the remaining garlic and onions.  Saute until lightly brown and onions are translucent.
  9. Add the cooked Udon noodles and turmeric and soy mixture.  Stir-fry until all noodles are coated with the sauce.
  10. Add all the cooked vegetables.  Stir-fry to  incorporate all flavors. Cook until just heated through.
  11. Serve warm.

Note: 

  • Hydrate mushrooms by soaking in warm water until soften.  Remove stem.

That is all  for now folks. I hope to see you again next time.  Don’t forget to Subscribe or Follow to get the latest recipes.  Please be kind and link back to source if you plan to use or share any of my recipes.  Thank you and have an exciting weekend.

~Anna

38 thoughts on “Spiced Udon Stir-fry (U is for Udon)

  1. Anna this is so colorful and stunning. Wow. I’m sorry that I missed the challenge! These colors just have my mouth watering. I’ve been waiting to see what all these talented ladies would do and this really has exceeded my expectations. yum!

    • Amanda, you are so kind and generous. Thank you so much for the compliment. It’s much appreciated.
      Yes, we missed you at the challenge this month. I was looking forward what you have to share too. However, I understand your health is more important. You can always amaze us in the next challenge. 🙂
      Have a fabulous week, Amanda. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  2. What a truly beautiful dish, Anna. The colors are so vibrant and help make your salad quite visually appealing. So long as ou don’t overcook any of them I bet the vegetables retain a bit of crunch, too. This would make a great lunch or even dinner. It’s certainly substantial enough.
    Glad to read you’re feeling better, Anna, Have a good week!

    • Hello, John! It’s great to hear from you. Thank you for the generous compliments and stopping by. There’s no more words to say about this dish because you’ve mentioned them all. 🙂 Thank you kindly. Have a great week as well. 🙂

  3. This is certainly my kind of food, with mushrooms, chicken, capsicum…wow those are my favourite ingredients. I love cooking with turmeric too. Thanks for sharing this. I’ll give it a try one of these fine weekends. Enjoy the rest of the weekend. I am really off to sleep now…goodnigh!

  4. Hi, Anna. What a vibrant dish, perfect for the springtime! The colors are gorgeous and the dish is oh-so-healthy! I like the restraint you use with the sauce and spices… the flavors of the vegetables and udon must really shine (like your gorgeous wang shiitake mushrooms). Scrumptious and delicious! I am so happy you have joined our monthly challenge bandwagon. It’s a real pleasure to have you. Warmest wishes, Shanna (PRCCSS!)

    • Thank you kindly for your generous compliments, Shanna. And thank you as well for having me. 🙂 It was fun. 🙂 I am getting ready for the next challenge. I hope vanilla for V. 😀 Best wishes to you and your family, Shanna, my PRCCSS. 🙂 Have a great weekend. I will be posing what I made this morning. I wanted to treat myself. I already ate 4 ( oh, dear!) Me and my sweet tooth 😀

  5. Pingback: Spicy Udon Salad with Tofu and Vegetables |

    • Hello, Silva! Oh, thank you for the kind words. I appreciate it as well as the visit. I finally get to see you up-close. You look fabulous! And, congratulations on being nominated for a Liebster Award. Have a beautiful weekend. 🙂

  6. Yum, love the look of this stir-fry, Anna. It is so brightly colored and full of different goodies. I think we were working on the same wavelength — I wanted to make udon soup, too, but was pressed for time so could not get all the ingredients for it. Stir fries are some of my favorite dishes, though, and I’ll take this stir fried spiced udon over soup any day!

    • Hi, Ngan! Thanks for your kind words and compliments. I find stir-fry easier and I love to add some colorful vegetables. Stir-frying the udon with veggies is a way to go. I love what you and the ladies (Liz, Shanna, Sofia) made. You are all amazingly talented. I can learn from all of you. Thanks for sharing, Ngan. I made some treats to de-stress myself and will be posting it soon. Have a fabulous weekend. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Sesame Ginger Udon with Spinach // U is for Udon | ngan made it

    • Hi, Kang Ju-Won! Thank you for the lovely compliments. I opted adding the text to the very same reason you mentioned. It’s a lot easier for people who just started learning how to cook.
      By the way, I’m deeply sorry about your fellow Koreans who recently perished. My heart goes out to the parents who worked so hard to send their children to school. I can’t even imagine what they must be feeling right now. I get teary eyes whenever I think about it. May their souls rest in peace.
      Have a peaceful weekend, Kang Ju-Won and thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. It’s very much appreciated.

    • Hi, Natalie! Thanks for stopping by. It’s my pleasure to share. I hope you like it as much I did if you ever try it. It was really good. Your roasted vegetable salad looks healthy and delicious; great for lunch or dinner. Thanks for sharing as well.

      Have a lovely weekend. 🙂

    • Hi, Sofia! What a week! Whew! 🙂 I feel so much better today I can finally smile.:D No headache either. Thank you for being kind. Your Udon dishes look really good, Sofia. I might try the one with the tofu. I’m salivating as I talk about it. Yummy! 😀

  8. Pingback: Udon: Two Fusion Ways {U for Udon} | Papaya Pieces

  9. Pingback: U is for udon (and that’s good enough for me) | food for fun

  10. Yum! You’re still a part of the challenge, Anna–going to add you back in to my post. WP can be touchy–I’ve thought I’ve schedule posts before only to find them not publish. ?? You’re up now and that’s all that matters.

    Love me some spicy udon 🙂 What do you suppose they’ll come up with for V?

    • Hi, Liz! Oh, thank you kindly for adding as well as your kind words! Your kind words definitely made my day. It has been quite a stressful week and there is nothing better than receiving support from the blogging community. It’s greatly appreciated.

      Hmm…V? V is for veal, vanilla, venison, vinegar, vermicelli, Valencia oranges? Something vanilla would be great. 🙂 Have a great weekend, Liz. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.