Pumpkin Cassava Muffins

IMG_20150929_100639_691

Autumn has arrived. Somehow, I wish summer would never end, but it does.  Soon, summer fruits will be no longer available and it would be too cold to go to the beach for a swim.  I can no longer go outdoors without grabbing a jacket or putting on my shoes, especially early morning and when the sun sets because it gets too cold. I will definitely miss the warm weather and all my favorite fruits such as berries, watermelons, cherries, and mango to name a few as well as going to the beach.

IMG_20150929_104745_812

Most people are gearing up for fall and winter.  It’s that time again where we have to stock up on fall crops such as pumpkins, sweet potatoes, apples, winter squash, and other produce available during this season.  Pumpkins and Halloween costumes are now on display in almost all the shops as well as Christmas ornaments.  I feel time seems to be going by faster than ever.  The year 2016 will be here before we know it.

IMG_20150929_103552_564-1

Each season has something good to offer. I love it when the leaves change to brilliant colors and fall to the ground; blanketing the ground anticipating winter is approaching. I also love to go to an orchard with my children and friends to harvest some apples to make apple pie.   The only part I dislike about autumn is raking leaves in cold temperature.  Depending on how much leaves are on the ground, imagine raking leaves when you have a big yard. Brr…

Although I am not a big fan of cold weather, I like it when it snows.  I would  love to wake up to a view of snow-capped mountain and have a cup of hot tea with these delicious Pumpkin and Cassava muffins.  I think it’s beautiful and relaxing.  I can just imagine.

IMG_20150923_131119_223

These were the muffins I initially made.

Anyway, I finally achieved the texture and taste of these muffins that I preferred at third try.   Although, my initial attempt was good, I love the final recipe. I had to make extra batch of these muffins for a recipe I have in mind because I know I wouldn’t be able to have enough once my boys try these muffins.  These muffins are perfectly sweetened, soft and moist with a hint of citrus that made them so delicious.   The cinnamon, brown sugar,  and vanilla are always great combination and made my kitchen smells like fall .  What a way to welcome fall!

You can make these muffins as is or you can add some toppings. I added apple pie, dried cranberries and glazed walnuts.  They were even delicious. These  would be great for brunch or breakfast served with your favorite warm drink. Perfect for this season.

***Please read the notes below before making this recipe.  Thanks. ***

This recipe yields 12 muffins.

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cup organic all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3/4 stick of unsalted butter, soften at room temperature*
  • 2 firmly packed Tablespoons of organic light brown sugar
  • 1 cup organic sugar
  • 2 large organic eggs
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 can (8 oz.) solid-packed pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup thawed grated cassava (yucca)*
  • 2 teaspoons Madagascar vanilla bean paste
  • 1  heaped Tablespoon of sour cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon orange oil*

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Line your muffin tin with muffin cups; set aside.  You do not have to spray the muffin cups with baking spray.
  • Mix the flour, salt, and baking powder in a large bowl; set aside.
  • Cream the butter and sugar (brown and white)  in a stand mixer or a hand mixer in low speed.  Add the eggs and beat until smooth.  Add the vanilla paste, cinnamon, orange oil, sour cream, pumpkin and cassava. Beat in low speed until well-combined; stopping from time to time to scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl.  Add the flour mixture to the pumpkin mixture and beat in low speed just until combined.  Do not over beat.
  • Using a large ice cream scoop, scoop the batter and fill the muffin cups.

IMG_20150929_093353_561

  • Place in the oven*.  Lower the temperature to 375 degrees and bake for 21-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  • Allow to slightly cool about 5 minutes before serving.

Place in a muffin plastic container if to be eaten later.

IMG_20150923_133237_453

*Notes:

  • Make sure the oven reached to  400 degree temperature before placing the muffin tin in the oven.
  • The butter should be very soft.
  • The photo with the ingredients have 2 cups of all-purpose flour.  This was taken when I was initially making these muffins. I didn’t want to take another photo, so I just left it as is, but used 1 3/4 cup of flour in the ingredients at third try.
  • If orange oil is unavailable, add zest of whole orange.
  • Measure the cassava or yucca without pressing it down the measurement cup.
  • These muffins were done in exactly 21 minutes in my oven.  However, baking time varies depending on your oven; adjust accordingly.

That is all for now.  Enjoy baking.  Thanks again for stopping by and reading this post.  Until next time.  Have a beautiful day! ❤

~Anna

©annascuisine.wordpress.com (2014-2015)   Unauthorized use and/or duplication of material herein without expressed and written consent from this blog’s author, Annabelle Bedell, is strictly and completely prohibited.

21 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cassava Muffins

  1. Pingback: Cassava Cupcakes Frosted Two ways | Anna's Cuisine

  2. Cassava is also yummy by just boiling it then sprinkling a little salt and olive oil, or just flavored olive oil. Great recipe!

    • Yes. When I was little, we would boil the cassava with coconut milk seasoned with salt. Simple but yet flavorful an delicious! 😀 Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. It’s much appreciated. Have a great weekend. 🙂

  3. I want to let you know, that I will make these tomorrow! I love pumpkin, and you know the delicacies you always share have always found a way into my heart…thanks for always making me smile Anna!

    • Hi, Liz! It’s good to hear from you. Thank you. They really are delicious!
      It was just one of those moments where ideas come to your head and knowing they both don’t have that much flavor, you just knew it would work. It’s just a matter of mixing in the right ingredients.
      Have a beautiful day! 😀

  4. Interesting mix of cassava and pumpkin! Never realised the two can be mixed! Do you have a bakery shop? You should as I am sure you will have lots of customers Anna!! I would run over to buy from you if you were down the street 😉
    You are talented 🙂

    • Hi, Garfield! Sorry for my delayed response. I’ve been sick with a flu. I feel like I got run over by a truck. But I just had to reply to my messages at least.

      Cassava along with pumpkins and potatoes don’t really have that much flavor in them, so mixing them together is no problem. You just need to create the right mixture of ingredients to bring out their full flavor.
      Thank you so much for the generous compliments, Garfield. It really means a lot to me. My friends and other people said the same thing. They have been encouraging me to open up my own business. I did. However, let me just say that I don’t have the right support. Maybe when my children are all grown I will definitely continue it then God willing. 😀 Have a great week. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.